Being charged with crimes associated with leaving the scene of the accident can be unnerving at best, and overwhelming, if you don’t have the insight of an Atlanta hit and run defense attorney. If you’re not sure whether you backed into another person’s property, tapped someone standing near the edge of the roadway, or hit another car, you could be facing criminal hit-and-run charges in the state of Georgia.

Reasons People Hit and Run After a Car Accident in Atlanta

There are numerous different reasons that individuals choose not to stop after an accident happens. Sometimes you might not even realize that you have hit somebody. Other times, the anxiety of being involved in an accident like this can be so confusing or unbearable that the driver chooses to leave the scene of the accident.

Gwinnett County hit and run charges are particularly common.  Gwinnett County is very suburban and has a large population.  With all of those roads and congestion, hit and run charges are more common in Gwinnett County than most other counties in Georgia.  Hit and run charges in Gwinnett County are very prevalent due to the large number of drivers and roads.

The Gwinnett County hit and run attorneys at Goldstein Law Group can help if you’ve left the scene of an accident for any reason.

Do I Really Need an Atlanta Hit and Run Defense Attorney?

Whatever happened at the time of the accident, it’s in your best interests to get an attorney right away. If the police or others around the scene of the crash are able to identify you, your future may be impacted by criminal penalties. You need to ensure that someone is advocating for you and telling your side of the story.

Some of the most common reasons that someone leaves the scene include:

  • Driving an unregistered vehicle
  • Not having car insurance meeting Georgia minimums
  • Not having legal citizenship status in the U.S.
  • Driving on a suspended or invalid license
  • Driving under the influence
  • Existing warrants out for the driver
  • Prior criminal convictions on the driver’s record

The Gwinnett County hit and run attorneys at Goldstein Law Group have helped clients charged with hit and run just like you.  Our hit and run attorneys can guide you through the criminal defense process to get you the best possible result in your case.

What Should I Do if I Left the Scene of an Accident?

It’s important to remember that everyone makes mistakes, but that you can protect your rights by consulting with an Atlanta hit and run defense attorney. You need an attorney who will dedicate his or her attention, resources, and time to help you work through your hit-and-run charges. A dedicated attorney will work hard for the best outcome for you.  

If you’ve been charged with hit and run in Gwinnett County, Goldstein Law Group is uniquely situated to help.  Our knowledge of the judges and prosecutors can make all the difference in your Gwinnett County hit and run case.

Penalties for Hit and Run Accidents and Next Steps

It is illegal to leave the scene of a car accident in the state of Georgia under Code 40-6-270. If you are identified as the driver of a vehicle involved in a hit-and-run, you could be facing either misdemeanor or felony charges in Georgia. A misdemeanor hit and run conviction carries maximum penalties of a fine of up to $1,000 and 12 months in jail. If another person is killed or seriously injured in the hit and run accident, you could be charged with a felony and you could be facing up to 5 years in prison.

In addition, a hit and run conviction carries an automatic license suspension of six months.  A hit and run license suspension can be devastating for drivers in Gwinnett County where the only real mode of transportation is by car.  To help avoid this suspension, you need a Gwinnett County hit and run lawyer.

You need an Atlanta hit and run defense attorney who will take your charges seriously. A committed lawyer will understand the impact that a criminal conviction can have on your life. This is why you want to do everything possible to defeat a hit-and-run charge or to minimize the criminal penalties.

Consulting with an attorney sooner rather than later gives you the best possible chance of overcoming these charges. Reach out to my offices today for a consultation about potential hit and run charges.

If you are facing hit and run charges in Atlanta, or anywhere in the State of Georgia including Gwinnett County, Dekalb County, Fulton County, Cobb County, or Douglas County, or in the cities of Atlanta, Alpharetta, Brookhaven, Chamblee, Doraville, Douglasville, Dunwoody, Duluth, Johns Creek, Lawrenceville, Marietta, Norcross, Roswell, Sandy Springs, or Suwanee, call us at (678) 757-5529 for a free consultation.